home sweet home

Today marks one week of having a complete Sprad family at home!

It’s definitely been a full week as Josh and I learn the ropes…meaning doing things on our own, figuring out her cues, and this new practice of scheduling around her feeding time.  This little munchkin is totally running things already!

Actually, she’s on a great schedule and pretty much just sleeps between feedings right now, so I’ve found plenty of time to work on settling back into the house, showering (I was under the impression no new mom ever had time to shower…man, I beat the odds), and just adoring our little sweet pea.  Josh and I are even making it out of the house to resurrect our social lives (The Bachelor at Becky’s tonight!).

It was at our first visit to the pediatrician that we got the all-clear to have healthy, hand-washed visitors and permission to take her to non-crowded places, as long as we kept strangers at bay.  Remember how I was cooped up for over nine weeks?  Yeah, so I was thrilled to be able to do things with her!  Josh’s first idea was a lunch date at Hopfields, but since my mom was in town, she offered to babysit (read: cuddly Grandma time; super selfish of her, in a good way) so we got our first DATE in two and a half months!  And my first pint all to myself…ahh.  I could get use to this pump/dump every once in a while.

Micah also had her first date with Archer.  I know what you’re thinking and don’t worry, Cyndi and I totally chaperoned.  The four of us went for a walk through the ‘hood since it was a gorgeous Texas January day (read: sweaty).  Other outings included Elsi’s with G&G Elmore, a return to one of our favorites, Billy’s on Burnet, with G&G Cray, a walk to Thunderbird for coffee, and some quick errands.

So we enjoyed some outings, had visits from family and friends, and just started settling into this parenthood routine.  Stat update:  as of her second pediatrician appointment this morning, Micah has already gone from 5 lbs 8 oz to 5 lbs 11.5 oz…sooo close to 6!  What a champ!  Though, I think I deserve some credit, too.  =)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to home sweet home

  1. Erin Meise says:

    Sarah, Sounds like you were blessed with an easy baby! I think some of us are! :) I hope things continue to go so well for you and yes, you can do everything you want to with a baby! It just takes a little longer to get in and out of the car now and you may have to make some nursing stops along the way, but she won’t slow you down! Congratulations!!

  2. Maux says:

    Micah + Archer!

Leave a Reply

